You can temporarily remove a node from a cluster by disabling the cluster instance on that node. A disabled node is not synchronized with the cluster configurations. When the node is enabled again, the cluster configurations are automatically synchronized on it. For more information, see
Synchronization across cluster nodes.
A disabled node cannot serve traffic and all existing connections on this node are terminated.
If the configurations of a disabled non-configuration coordinator node are modified (through the NSIP address of the node), the configurations are not automatically synchronized on that node. You can manually synchronize the configurations as described in
Synchronizing Cluster Configurations.